What is province example?

What is province example? The definition of a province is a specific area or location within a country or state that is often a subset of a larger union. Ontario is an example of a province of Canada. An administrative division of a country; specif., any of the ten main administrative divisions of Canada.

Is province a city or state? A province is almost always an administrative division within a country or state. The term derives from the ancient Roman provincia, which was the major territorial and administrative unit of the Roman Empire’s territorial possessions outside Italy. The term province has since been adopted by many countries.

What’s a province means? 1 : a part of a country having a government of its own (as one of the divisions of Canada) 2 provinces plural : the part or parts of a country far from the capital or chief city. 3 : an area of activity or authority the province of science.

Does province mean state? A province is an area of land that is part of a country, similar to a state or a county. It can also be an area of land under political control by an outside country, similar to a colony. Provinces are usually units of government. Canada has 10 provinces, each with a lieutenant governor.

What is province example? – Related Questions

Is NCR a province?

The National Capital Region (NCR) is the only region in the country without any province.

Is Ontario a province?

Ontario is Canada’s second largest province, covering more than 1 million square kilometres (415,000 square miles) – an area larger than France and Spain combined. Ontario is bounded by Quebec to the east, Manitoba to the west, Hudson Bay and James Bay to the north, and the St.

Is Manila a province?

Unlike other administrative regions in the Philippines, Metro Manila is not composed of provinces. Instead, the region is divided into four geographic areas called “districts.”

Is Canada a province?

The provinces are, in alphabetical order: Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, and Saskatchewan. The three territories are Northwest Territories, Nunavut, and Yukon.

How many provinces are there?

There are 81 provinces at present, which are further subdivided into component cities and municipalities. The local government units in the National Capital Region, as well as independent cities, are independent of any provincial government.

What is an example of a municipality?

The definition of a municipality is a local area with its own government, or the government of such an area. An example of a municipality is the government of an incorporated village. A political unit, such as a city, town, or village, incorporated for local self-government.

How many provinces are there in India?

A province is an administrative division. Provinces were divided into three groups (central, eastern and western) based on their economic development and geographic location. Of the 22 provinces, 10 are classified as central, eight as eastern and four as western.

Is province and state same?

Province is defined as a unit of a country that is created with administrative point of view. A state is also defined as a smaller territory that adds up to make a federation, such as US.

Are counties provinces?

A county is a geographical region of a country used for administrative or other purposes in certain modern nations. A province is almost always an administrative division within a country or state.

What is a province or prefecture?

is that province is a subdivision of government usually one step below the national level; (canada) one of ten of canada’s federated entities, recognized by the constitution and having a separate representative of the sovereign (compare territory) while prefecture is prefecture.

How many provinces are in USA?

In addition to the 50 states and federal district, the United States has sovereignty over 14 territories. Five of them (American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands) have a permanent, nonmilitary population, while nine of them do not.

Is Calabarzon part of NCR?

Sharing a border to the northeast is Rizal Province, which is part of Calabarzon Region. Also from Calabarzon Region are the provinces of Cavite and Laguna which are to the south of the National Capital Region. To the east and the west you have water, Laguna de Bay and Manila Bay respectively.

How many provinces are in Canada?

Canada has ten provinces and three territories. Each province and territory has its own capital city.

How is Ontario divided?

Ontario is divided into two larger regions, Northern and Southern Ontario. Northern Ontario is divided into Northwestern Ontario and Northeastern Ontario. Southern Ontario is further divided into Central Ontario, Eastern Ontario, and Southwestern Ontario, essentially creating 5 distinct regions.

How many provinces are in the Philippines?

The country is divided into three geographical areas: Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao. It has 18 regions, 81 provinces, 145 cities, 1,489 municipalities, and 42,029 barangays. (Barangay – The smallest political unit into which cities and municipalities in the Philippines are divided.

What are provinces and territories?

The major difference between a Canadian province and a territory is that provinces receive their power and authority from the Constitution Act, 1867 (formerly called The British North America Act, 1867), whereas territorial governments are creatures of statute with powers delegated to them by the Parliament of Canada.

What is the largest province in Canada?

On the ten provinces, Ontario is the largest, boasting a population of over 14 million people. The largest city in Ontario is Toronto, which is also the capital of the province. Toronto has a population closing in on 3 million as of 2019.

What are the 3 Canadian territories?

The Entry of Other Provinces and Territories

Although they are legally distinct jurisdictions, Canada’s three territories of Yukon, the Northwest Territories, and Nunavut are granted their powers through federal legislation instead of through the Canadian constitution.

Is Toronto a municipality?

Toronto is Ontario’s capital and most populous municipality.

What are the four types of municipalities?

Categories of municipalities

There are currently three kinds of municipalities: metropolitan municipalities which are big cities. local municipalities which are towns and their surrounding rural areas. district municipalities which coordinate a number of local municipalities in a region.

What does province mean in India?

1. the territory occupied by one of the constituent administrative districts of a nation. 2.